Change is coming

thoughts

I am currently packing up my life and preparing for an adventure that comes straight from my heart. This departure makes me feel like a baby bird who is leaving the nest. I’m about to fly to new places that I have been dreaming about my whole life.

I have created a home and a community for myself in this small rainy city during the last six and a half years of my life. As I reflect on my time here, I feel an overwhelming feeling of relief, anxiety and excitement.

I jumped through a myriad of hoops to earn my undergraduate and graduate degrees while living here. I can say with confidence that perseverance has meaning in my life. I came to Olympia to attempt college for the third time, and finally that old saying came true.

I finished the second part of my twenties here and will be forever grateful for the many lessons I have learned. Life lessons and academic lessons. I’m relieved that this is where I set down some roots, tried new things, and blossomed into a new person.

Now as I am almost ready to hit the road for a three month long road trip across the US, I am feeling that strange mixture of happy nerves you get right before something great but unknown is about to happen.

After our road trip, Brandon and I are moving to Mexico, which is going to bring on a whole new set of nerves and excitement.

Right now is the calm before the storm- but instead of rain- it will be wind at our backs and sunshine kissing our skin.

Leave a Reply

